Choir Exhibit updated

The Kearny Online Museum A Cappella Choir exhibit has been expanded to include audio recordings

The exhibit honoring Kearny’s A Cappella Choir in the Alumni’s Online Museum has been expanded to include several of the record album recordings from 1957 to 1970 along with the album covers. The online exhibit also displays several collections of slides and prints belonging to Mr. Zaloudek, Kearny’s choir director from 1945 through 1976. Additional photographs, historical documents and concert recordings will be added to the online collection.

The Kearny High Alumni Association’s Online Museum is currently available to all members. In the future Kearny Alumni Online Museum access will become a special benefit for Contributing Members.

Kearny Seniors honored with website

A special website has been created to honor Kearny’s graduating class of 2020. With the traditional end-of-year senior events cancelled this year, the website celebrates and honors all of this year’s graduates. You can visit the website here.

Postponed- Kearny Hall of Fame 2020

Due to the COVID-19 public health orders, we are postponing the Hall of Fame Event.  We will reschedule a new date with the school district once they are back in session. 
Once the new date is calendared with the district, we will notify all inductees,  members, and the general public. 

Please note that all ticket sales to date will be transferred to the new date. We are all looking forward to a truly wonderful event. Thank you for your understanding, we look forward to holding our celebration as soon as possible.

The Alumni Association Board of Directors

2020 Alumni Scholarship Application

The Kearny High School Alumni Association Tom Barnett Scholarship is available for any Senior graduating from Stephen Watts Kearny High School who plans to attend an accredited four-year institution, community college, trade or vocational institution. Applicants must have a 2.5 grade point average and a 3.0 citizenship average. The deadline for applying for this year’s scholarship is April 11, 2020.

Each Scholarship will be for $1000.00.

The scholarship application and the supporting documents must be received by the selection committee by April 11, 2020. Late applications will not be considered.

Download scholarship application

Kearny Scholarship Recipients


Among other goals, the focal point of the KHS Alumni Association’s fundraising efforts each year is to help provide scholarships to the next generation of up-and-coming Komets as they further their educations beyond the gates of Kearny High.  The KHSAA has been awarding scholarships to Kearny students for over 20 years.

In 2019, seven $1,000 scholarships were awarded to deserving seniors.  The recipients were Annabella Berry, Lien Hieu Man, Mary Agashua, Jennifer Garcia Hernandez, Alizeā Inez Reyes, Uriel Nathan Geronimo and Nihilo Ibarra.

On behalf of the Alumni Association, Laurie Quitugua and Mike George attended the Senior Dinners to present the scholarship checks to the students, and Ginger Chasteene recognized the DMD recipients at their assembly.

Congratulations to the scholarship winners!  Here’s hoping they succeed in their endeavors in their chosen fields.  Their work has just begun.


Kearny Pep Rally Honors Alan Trammell

After Alan Trammell’s induction into the National Baseball Hall of Fame in July 2018, the Kearny baseball team wanted to rededicate the new Kearny baseball field in his honor. Spearheaded by senior baseball player Jacob Redondo, Kearny High School arranged a student pep rally to showcase Trammell’s accomplishments and his association with the school. Trammell’s varsity baseball coach, Jack Taylor, was also to be honored. Bronze plaques designating Kearny’s recently upgraded baseball facilities as Alan Trammell Field and Jack Taylor Diamond were created with donations from the Kearny High Alumni Association, the Kearny Community Foundation, and members of the greater Kearny community. The plaques were presented to Trammell and Rick Taylor, Jack Taylor’s son, at the event. The presentation to the students also included reflections and recollections about Trammell by Jacob Redondo, KHS class of 2019; Hugh McMillan, Trammell’s JV baseball coach; and Kearny alums Todd Villalobos and Robert Graef. The plaques will be mounted on the announcer’s/scorer’s building at the new field.

Rick Taylor, Mrs. Jack Taylor, Alan Trammell, and members of the Kearny baseball team at the February pep rally.

Kearny High School dedicates new gym scoreboard to former district employee Art Hanby

The following article was posted on the San Diego Unified Newscenter on Sept. 13, 2018.


On the surface, it was your standard dedication ceremony for a remodeled gym — a celebratory atmosphere with music, cheerleaders, and students.

But to those who knew Art Hanby, it was so much more. It was an opportunity to recognize his kindness and generosity, and honor his legacy.

Hanby, the district’s former Strategic Sourcing and Contracts Officer, passed away in December 2016. He had developed a special relationship with Kearny High School after supervising a Kearny student in a district internship program in 2007. He was still mentoring this student until his passing.

“He was such a kind, thoughtful and humble man that didn’t need to talk about what he did because his actions spoke for him,” said Kearny High Principal Ana Diaz-Booz.

For example, he and his wife donated money to a college scholarship at Kearny targeting seniors that had overcome adversity. He also visited Kearny often to speak directly with students and staff to ensure that district contracts were serving the school’s needs.


To read the rest of the San Diego Unified post click here.

Alan Trammell inducted into Baseball’s Hall of Fame

Link to National Baseball Hall of Fame’s Alan Trammell page.

Major League Baseball video of Alan Trammell’s induction into 2018 Baseball Hall of Fame.

2018 Alumni Car Show

2018 Distinguished Komets Hall of Fame Event

Alumni- Click the link below to purchase your tickets online.

Ticket Link

The Kearny High School Alumni Association



Distinguished Kearny Komets Awards Event  

Saturday, June 23, 2018

Kearny High School Auditorium

1954 Komet Way ● San Diego CA 92111

Doors open for check-in at 3:00

Presentation of Inductees 4:00 – 6:30

Buffet in Kearny cafeteria following


2018 inductees:

Patricia Feeley Addesso 1973

Morris Akers 1957   

Rick Corlett, Faculty   

Michael Hunter Anderson  1974   

Robert Graeff 1971   

Dorothy Worthy, Faculty

Teri Armbruster Hansen 1974   

Vicky Phares  1978


Distinguished Kearny Komets Awards Presentation

TICKETS: $35.00 per person. Ticket includes: awards presentation, buffet following presentation, non-alcoholic beverages, AND great company.

NAME______________________________________ PHONE_____________________________________


EMAIL: _________________________________


For my reservation of _______ tickets, I have enclosed $_________________. Reservation will be under the name of purchaser, but you may list names of additional guests for check-in purposes.  

Each ticket has a tax deductible value (less cost of meal) of $25.00. Federal Tax ID 33-0722695


Please check one:

 Confirmation of reservations should be mailed or emailed to the above address.  

 Tickets will be picked up at check-in the day of event.

 I cannot attend, but I have enclosed a donation to support the event $__________________.


Send this ticket request to:  Kearny High School Alumni Association, P.O. Box 710700,

San Diego, CA  92171-0700.     


Questions?? CHAIR:  Morris Akers  619 482-1282

VOLUNTEERS: Olivia Beniquez 619 384-1727 or Dayna Elliott  619 287 6246