kearny komets hall of fame

2023 Inductees

John Beam, 1977.
Legendary Oakland, CA, high school and
college football coach. Profiled in
Netflix’s “Last Chance U”
documentary series.

Jay Brewer, 1962.
Owner of North
Shore Printery in Pacific Beach.

Helen (Likins) Bullock, 1953.
Noted South Bay educator.

Beverly (Montgomery) Cassity,
1964. Event professional and
entrepreneur. Manages the Scripps
Ranch Farmer’s Market.

Donald Norcross, 1975. Sports
writer for the San Diego Union-

Mark Shaffer, 1982. Operates the
“Chopper the Biker Dog” therapy
dog service in support of individuals
in need.

Larry Waters, 1970. Noted South
Bay educator.

Lincoln White, staff, 1972-1988.
Kearny’s Boys Locker Room
attendant. Noted for his support for
Komet students and athletes.

1971 CIF Championship Baseball
Team. First, and only, Kearny
baseball team to win CIF

Morris Akers
Komet Legacy Award ~
Barbara (Bauer) Forester, 1958.
For her service to the Kearny High
Alumni Association.

Linda (Irvin) Shannon
Komet Spirit Award ~
Donna (Hindman) Altman, 1974.
For her service to the school and
the Kearny High Alumni Association.